Where do I start?

More
03 Dec 2003 15:49 #8192 by Jayess
Where do I start? was created by Jayess
When I started playing AL, I didn't have a clue what to do. I was familiar with (Hack 'n' Slash) MUDs, but AL's realism left me adrift in a new world with no clear goals and no idea what was expected of me. I spent my early times exploring, poking my head into whatever I could find, and (thanks to what I later found out was the newbie shield) staying out of trouble. I was accustomed to MUDs that forced you to explore newbie dungeons while gradually upgrading your equipment and gaining levels. I had no prior experience with a level-less/class-less system. On my previous MUDs, RolePlay was something that was infrequent and poorly done.

As an new player to AL, where do you start? How do you become comfortable with the way things work? It goes without saying that reading and understanding helpfiles is the most important thing you can do, especially when you consider that AL is more advanced code-wise than most MUDs you may be used to. Initially, you'll need to become familiar with the user interface so you can move your character about, eat and drink, manipulate objects, and generally do the things that keep your character alive. Later, you will need to learn about AL's naming system, emote systems, and familiarize yourself with the list of verbs.